Results

Jacob Howard mail: jacob.howard@horse-d.eu | web: jacob.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 23:43:18 +0000
Can FARC's Rebels Leave Behind Their Guns?
After decades at war, Colombia’s FARC fighters face a new struggle: returning to normal life.
Earl Dixon mail: earl.dixon@thedarkswans.com | web: earl.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 30 Sep 2016 07:21:02 +0000
Scientists Find Evidence For Alternate Theory Of How Life Arose
The predominant theory of how life arose begins with the development of RNA before DNA, but a new study puts that narrative into question.
Fred Harris mail: fred.harris@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: fred.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 30 Sep 2016 05:48:03 +0000
The Modern Mind May Be 100,000 Years Old
New fossil evidence shows sophisticated thought began earlier than we thought.
Edward Gray mail: google@horse-d.eu | web: edward.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 11:29:45 +0000
This Algorithm Calculates Your Shirt Size In Seconds
Proper Cloth is making it remarkably easy to get made-to-measure shirts. Between their sizing algorithm that creates a custom shirt size in seconds to their Design A Shirt tool that lets you customize every detail, everything is done online. No wonder they’re the highest-rated online shirtmaker on Google.
Nicholas Dixon mail: nicholas.dixon@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: nicholas.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 15:12:22 +0000
World-Record Setting Chinese Rock Band Has Nearly 1,000 Members
This last June, 953 musicians in China set the Guinness World Record for the largest performing rock band in the world with 349 singers, 154 guitarists, 151 drummers, 101 bassists, 100 keyboard players and 98 wind instrumentalists.
Fred Lee mail: fred.lee@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: fred.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 30 Sep 2016 02:45:03 +0000
Kids Are Tiny, Judgmental Snobs When It Comes to Morality
According to a new study in the journal Psychological Science, younger children aren’t interested in your choices so much as your thought process: Kids demand moral purity, and anything less makes you just a little bit evil.
Peter Boyd mail: peter.boyd@affablyhomonym.com | web: peter.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 30 Sep 2016 01:15:03 +0000
Happy 'Galactic Tick Day'!
That's right, today marks our most recent completion of a “galactic tick,” or one centi-arcsecond of our solar system’s galactic revolution. The next one will occur on June 26, 2018 (because the Milky Way is frickin' huge).
Jason Jordan mail: jason.jordan@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: jason.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 21:37:26 +0000
How Donald Trump Set Off A Civil War Within The Right-Wing Media
"At some point it’s hard not to conclude they decided the Trump train was the gravy train. It’s like watching 'Invasion of the Body Snatchers'."
Adam Rivera mail: adam.rivera@geheime.club | web: adam.geheime.club | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 22:44:01 +0000
The Last Game
After a five-decade long desegregation battle, two football teams face off for the final time in a Mississippi town.
Brian Phillips mail: brian.phillips@klarkzon.eu | web: brian.klarkzon.eu | when: Wed, 28 Sep 2016 17:31:29 +0000
Feeling The Gs In The Cockpit Of A T-38 Fighter Jet
Destin of Smarter Every Day does his very best not to pass out when flying with the 560th Flying Training Squadron.
Harry Simmons mail: harry.simmons@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: harry.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 23:43:18 +0000
The New California Law Twisting IMDb's Arm Is Probably Unconstitutional
Scholars and practitioners alike come down hard on the new law, with only one of seven lawyers suggesting the enactment would survive a challenge.
Shawn Gray mail: shawn.gray@innovation-km.com | web: shawn.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 22:44:01 +0000
The Gadgets That Are Supposed To Save Yellow Taxis From Uber
Touchscreen tablets, biometric readers, and Wi-Fi.
Paul White mail: paul.white@hockeymail.de | web: paul.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:04:18 +0000
Heckler Gets Called Up To Green After Golfer Misses Putt, Nails The Same Putt
During a practice round for the Ryder Cup, Rory McIlroy struggled to hit a putt and heckler let him hear about it. And then the heckler got called up to the green and actually backed up his trash talk.
Todd Washington mail: todd.washington@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: todd.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 18:00:40 +0000
The Groan-Inducing World Of Pun Competitions
If you’re an NBA rookie, you really don’t want to go up against LeBron James. And if you find yourself at the world’s biggest pun competition, the last person you want to face is four-time defending champion Ben Ziek.
Patrick Ramirez mail: patrick.ramirez@ventredi.eu | web: patrick.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 21:37:27 +0000
Preserving The Quietest Places On Earth
As sound threatens to pollute our national parks, a small team is trying to put a lid on it.
Harry Nelson mail: yahoo@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: harry.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:12:23 +0000
Employees At Trump's California Golf Course Say He Wanted To Fire Women Who Weren't Pretty Enough
Workers' declarations in support of a 2012 lawsuit show they believed Trump pressured subordinates to create and enforce a culture where females’ looks were prized over their skills.
Mark Gibson mail: mark.gibson@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: mark.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 18:00:40 +0000
Can Money Buy You The Perfect Diet?
The website, splashy and white, promised locally sourced, plant-based meals, and it cost $420 for five days, about four times as much as I spend on my weekly meals. It was clear to me that I wasn’t just subscribing to a food service, I was signing up for a lifestyle, an aesthetic.
Peter Cooper mail: peter.cooper@klarkzon.eu | web: peter.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 21:37:27 +0000
These Medical Terms Still Bear The Mark Of The Third Reich
Once terms are well-established in the medical community, it’s impractical to make them vanish right away.
Sean Crawford mail: sean.crawford@innovation-km.com | web: sean.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 28 Sep 2016 16:39:30 +0000
Water Sommelier Wants You To Know There Is No Such Thing As 'Pure' Water
Martin Riese lives in the United States on an O-1 visa for his "extraordinary abilities." His skill? Being really good at drinking water.
Jeff Long mail: google@horse-d.eu | web: jeff.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:12:23 +0000
Why Do Brides Wear White?
The white gown is synonymous with weddings, a custom that’s often assumed to be a nod to old-school values of purity and chastity, as embodied by the virginal bride. But in reality, the rise of the white dress is less a story of religious influence or puritanical mores than it is a tale of economics and marketing.
Vincent Powell mail: vincent.powell@thedarkswans.com | web: vincent.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:12:23 +0000
The Real Cost Of Asos's Fast Fashion
The heart of the online retailer’s global empire is a giant warehouse in the north of England where workers say they are treated like machines to get your order to you wherever you are in the world.
Benjamin Flores mail: benjamin.flores@innovation-km.com | web: benjamin.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 28 Sep 2016 15:06:13 +0000
Fall Essentials Your Closet Needs Right Now
You don’t need to own a lot of clothes, just a few really excellent essentials. And we've helped you find the best.
Ryan Thompson mail: ryan.thompson@ventredi.eu | web: ryan.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 16:48:43 +0000
What Can You Do When The Cops Take Your Money?
More than four months have passed since intruders came into Ana Ortiz's apartment and robbed her of over $2,600 in cash she needed to pay rent. The people who took her money weren't criminals, but officers with the New York City Police Department.
Chris Butler mail: chris.butler@pulpfrictions.com | web: chris.pulpfrictions.com | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 18:00:40 +0000
Why Silicon Valley Is Obsessed With Blood
Beyond our macabre associations, scientists and startups are investigating the power of blood to combat degenerative diseases. But don't get carried away, just yet.
Steven Owens mail: steven.owens@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: steven.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Mon, 29 Aug 2016 17:28:53 +0000
The Only VPN With Automatic Wi-Fi Security
Unlike any other service on the market, this VPN immediately and automatically activates an encrypted VPN channel as soon your device connects to an unsecured Wi-Fi network (even if your phone is in locked mode or in your pocket.)
Clarence Gonzalez mail: clarence.gonzalez@horse-d.eu | web: clarence.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 28 Sep 2016 22:58:08 +0000
The Things You Should And Shouldn’t Share With Pals
Towels, toothbrushes and even bars of soap: these are the things you should and should not share with friends.
Philip Burns mail: google@klarkzon.eu | web: philip.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 19:00:10 +0000
Physicists' Slang, Explained
No, those physicists aren't going to eat human meat in a farm structure. To them, "Cannibalism" and "Barn" mean something entirely different.
Ronald Watson mail: ronald.watson@ventredi.eu | web: ronald.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 16:48:42 +0000
Today In 2016: The Voting Selfie Saga Continues
Welcome to Today In 2016, your daily digest of all things election. Today: Hillary Clinton skipped her security training, Trump broke the US embargo against Cuba and Gary Johnson messes up again.
Alfred Owens mail: alfred.owens@horse-d.eu | web: alfred.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 19:00:10 +0000
Panda Caretakers Dress Up In Panda Suits Soaked With Panda Urine
In an effort to make sure baby pandas fear humans, caretakers disguise themselves as adult pandas.
Brian Reynolds mail: brian.reynolds@innovation-km.com | web: brian.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 19:00:10 +0000
Why Linguists Are Fascinated By The American Jewish Accent
The linguistic field of prosody, the story of melody, pitch, and other hard-to-study verbal traits, is suddenly hot.
Johnny Morales mail: johnny.morales@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: johnny.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 15:12:22 +0000
Pedal-Powered Treadmill Allows You To Work Out With Your Pooch
Some people might say "why don't you just go outside and walk your dog like a normal person instead of spending $2,000 on pet gym equipment?" And to those people, we reply, "yeah, you're totally right."
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 13:37:11 +0000
Train Hits Hoboken, NJ Station In Major Accident
An NJ Transit train crashed into the station in Hoboken at the height of Thursday's morning rush, leaving twisted piles of metal and bricks and causing part of the highly trafficked terminal to collapse.
Ronald Bryant mail: ronald.bryant@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: ronald.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 28 Sep 2016 21:35:30 +0000
Inside Facebook's Enormous Arctic Data Center
Mark Zuckerberg has shared a look at Facebook's massive Luleå data center in Sweden.
Brandon Robinson mail: brandon.robinson@ventredi.eu | web: brandon.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 20:00:20 +0000
Mountain Biker Rips Through Absolutely Insane Course
We would be screaming the whole way down, but the most Bernhard Kerr does is breathe a little bit heavily.
Mark Reyes mail: mark.reyes@innovation-km.com | web: mark.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 14:19:20 +0000
Did #TrumpWon Actually Originate In Russia? Here's What The Data Says
Typically you see a trend jump from one city to another before reaching country-wide or world-wide status. This was not the case here.
Anthony Mitchell mail: yahoo@hockeymail.de | web: anthony.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 16:48:43 +0000
Ancient Fossils Reveal A Sticky Dinosaur Death Trap
Based upon new findings extracted from a 9-ton block of rock and bone from eastern Utah, some squishy sediment could literally stop even the most rapacious raptors dead in their tracks.
Jesse Gordon mail: jesse.gordon@innovation-km.com | web: jesse.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 18:00:40 +0000
People Asked Elon Musk Some Truly Ridiculous Questions At His Mars Mission Announcement
No Aldo, Mars is *not* like Burning Man.
Jimmy Long mail: jimmy.long@ventredi.eu | web: jimmy.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 15:44:03 +0000
The Surprisingly Sophisticated Science Of Cleats
A slightly different cleat shape can make the difference between winning and losing.
Dennis Boyd mail: dennis.boyd@ventredi.eu | web: dennis.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 28 Sep 2016 23:20:48 +0000
The Great, $190 Million Vegan Mayo Scam, And Other Great Stories
The crazy collapse of Silicon Valley darling Hampton Creek, the rise of the Fixer Uppers and more stuff you should be reading this week.
Shawn Warren mail: shawn.warren@hockeymail.de | web: shawn.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 29 Sep 2016 17:17:55 +0000
Swedish Girls Rope Skipping Team Performs A Flippin' Sweet Routine At This Year's Championship
These girls prove definitively that rope skipping is as competitive and badass as any other sport out there, especially when it's set to Usher's "Yeah!"
more